On Moving

Pinecones

Will and I have been living in British Columbia for over a month now. We’ve settled into our apartment, roughly figured out how to get around town, and Will has started classes.

I’d definitely be lying if I said I loved it here and never wanted to leave, which is what I originally thought was going to happen. As soon as we reached the area where the flatness of the prairies swoops up into massive snow capped mountains, I fell in love. I’d never seen anything like it. However we keep encountering things that we know we couldn’t live with, such as the cost of living, crowds of people everywhere, and the distance between us and our friends and family. While there are some things we love about this province, the hope of me finding my forever home here quickly diminished.

I don’t know. I probably haven’t given it enough of a chance either. I know that meeting some people would probably help me adjust more, but at the same time when I’ve gone out to be around people, or to a social gathering I’ve felt more alienated. I’m just not the sort of person who does well here I guess. This town seems to attract people with certain interests, starving artists, college students, and people who want to live the hippy lifestyle. I don’t feel like I fit in anywhere. I’m an artist yes, but I’m not really putting myself out there these days. I feel like because I don’t really fit in style wise either, I don’t look like I’m interesting or worth talking to.

The times I’ve enjoyed the most were when Will and I have gotten away from all the people and found a nice quiet hiking trail, or when we’ve visited nearby towns that aren’t popular places for tourists. Being able to walk freely without someone bumping into me every couple of minutes. I will gladly take all of the quite little pretty spots that BC has to offer.

Golden

Big Mofo

